change

corn stalk and clouds
the weather is changing: in more ways than the literal one. so I haven’t taken many photos this week. partly that’s because my schedule didn’t really allow it and partly due to the weather. but I have been trying to think more deeply about what I’m doing with photography. “intention” is my mantra these days. but that intention bumps up against deep-seated personality traits, and, as Shakespeare says, “that’s the rub.” sometimes it seems that if I could make that first couple of steps that I might be able to develop a rhythm, but how to do that still eludes me.
the class I signed up for started earlier in the week. the instructor is Patrick Patterson. he studied with, or worked for (I’m not entirely clear about it), Keith Carter for a significant amount of time. in doing some background reading before the class, I got to know his work a bit and find it very interesting on many levels. the background reading also led me to look again at Paul Strand, whose work was one of my inspirations 30-odd years ago when I first started dabbling seriously with photography. in both of their work, there is a strong graphic element that is important to me, as well. but with Carter, and also Robert Parke-Harrison, who I heard speak a few weeks ago, there’s a sense of serious fantasy that appeals to me, and that I’d like to explore. here, again, is that intentionality. so, the class will be centered around personal projects, and I am still trying to nail down what that might be, although I’m exploring some possibilities.
a little progress, then. pushing me out of my comfort zone. trying to make some new connections.

About Ron Wiecki

Photographer
This entry was posted in activities, photographers, Photography blogs, thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

