working

beach grass

beach grass at Lake Michigan


This week I’ve been working on preparing two portfolios to submit to Color magazine. I’ve been thinking about this for a longish time, because I think that some of my images are as good as photos that I’ve seen in the magazine. But now the deadline is approaching, so I needed to get working.
It’s a good process to review older work from time to time. It’s maybe something I should do more regularly. I was hoping to do more over the winter, but various things prevented much extended thought in that direction. At any rate, I’m planning on submitting two groups of photos: one is of natural subjects, in varying degrees of abstractness; the other is of urban, industrial, again in varying degrees of abstractness.
The image above is from the first portfolio. It was taken in August 2009 at Kohler-Andrae State Park, near Sheboygan, Wisconsin. This was when I was still mainly shooting jpeg, so I had less to work with in processing it. But Lightroom is a wonder and I was able to bring out the sky and the lighting in the grass the way I wanted. To me, this image works because the lighting on the grass and the gray sky emphasize the sculptural quality of the tuft of beach grass.

About Ron Wiecki

Photographer
This entry was posted in activities, Photography blogs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

