shadows

vines

vines

Last night, one of the guys from the class I’ve participated in over the past year hosted a little gathering that included some photo critiquing. There were about a half dozen of us and most brought their spouses, so it was pretty relaxed. It was a nice thing do do, as the next session is just around the corner. It was also good to see what people work on on their own, without the weekly assignment guiding them. We also changed the format a bit to have the photographer comment first and then have others chime in. That had a rather different dynamic, which I thought worked well. And then, we also had the added element of the comments that the spouses could add and their reactions to the process and sometimes things related to the photo at hand.

Among the photos I took along was the one here. They were all relatively recent pieces that I’ve been working on using the processing techniques I touched on in the previous post. (Most of the other ones I’ve already posted recently to either to Flickr or Google+.) I thought they were well-received. I know that my aesthetic is rather different from most of the others in the group, so I’m not always sure, but we had a good discussion about what I brought. For some reason, I was also rather more eloquent about what I’m about than usual, so that was interesting. Anyway, I felt a certain elation afterward, stemming partly from that, but also from the fact that on Friday I worked on a couple of more business-related things that I’d had in mind for quite a while.

This photo was taken in Ithaca, New York, in August. It was behind an abandoned house on the property of the bed & breakfast where we were staying, where the forest is beginning to encroach pretty seriously into the structure. It was taken just before sunset, hence the low light filtering through the small forest behind me. The way that light and shadows interact is endlessly fascinating to me and this was particularly interesting for the many layers of shadows and the way the vines crisscrossed the frame and how all of that was further distorted by the siding of the house. I see this photograph as one of an ongoing series of shadows and light, although this is one of the few so far where there is a man-made background.

About Ron Wiecki

Photographer
This entry was posted in activities, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

