PhotoMidwest Fest 2014

artistic still life with body

decay

It’s probably already two weeks ago, now, that I found out that I had two photos accepted into PhotoMidwest Fest 2014. This year, the theme of the show is “Of midwest, by midwest,” so it’s pretty clear that my work falls into the latter category. The juror is Wally Mason , curator of the Haggerty Museum at Marquette University in Milwaukee. I’d submitted four works, so to have two accepted is a good thing. The letter said that the exhibit will be forty-two works by thirty artists, out of over 400 submitted, so that’s even better. The exhibit will hang at the Galleries 1 and 2 at the Overture Center for the Arts in Madison, Wisconsin, with the opening on Thursday evening, September 25th, as the kickoff event of the PhotoMidwest biennial.

The work above is one of the accepted works. The other, I posted previously . These are among my best works of the past year, so I’m happy that these were the ones accepted. The other two I submitted were a bit more experimental and one had some blurry male nudity. As I’ve written before, my direction is becoming clearer, based on the work of mine that gains some attention. Whether it’s ultimately original or not, whatever that might mean, is not what interests me, but it does represent some clarification of my vision. It seems that I’ve been treating this practice seriously enough for long enough, now, that my aesthetic orientation is emerging.

In the course of this, I’ve also begun to understand the importance of the final stage, which is presentation. Both prints will be made by Starprintz, a local producer of top quality inkjet prints mounted on aluminum. It’s been a pleasure working with them over the past couple of years.

About Ron Wiecki

Photographer
This entry was posted in activities, exhibits, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

